Guti – The Year Of The Conga


Guti – The Year Of The Conga



The Year Of The Conga


Release Date:



01. AEE
02. Another Day
03. Beat
04. Red Eye
05. Our House (Somebody) feat. Leo Garcia
06. Salve Me feat. Morgan
07. Se Baila
08. So Dope
09. La Orchestra Fantasma feat. Greg Paulus & Chucky de Ipola
10. Telling The Truth
11. Simple Thoughts
12. Like That
13. Voladora
Coda Radio – Stay Focused – Square

The Year Of The Conga is Guti’s third and most rooted album to date. It came about through a personal request from brothers Chris & Steve Martinez. Both unapologetic Guti fans they wanted the very first album on their Cuttin’ Headz label to be his. The result is a total reconnection back to his Argentinian foundations, his club roots and everything that first lured him to the dancefloor…

“I’m back to my roots and found my Latino groove again,” says Guti who wrote the album throughout 2018, starting it whilst bulleting through Japan by train, the majority crafted in the jungle of Dominican Republic, having collected and sampled native percussion instruments, and then finally mixing down on his return to Europe. “Every song is full of rhythm and created to make you dance…”


He’s not messing around; from the writhing snakelike percussion and rousing calls and cries of opener Aee right through to the final mesmerising waves and farewell struts of finale Voladora this an album is born both for and from the dancefloor. No overthinking, no purism, no exclusion; just unabashed physical hypnosis, fuelled for the floor, guided with gut instinct and years of groovecraft. It’s the sound of an artist who’s disconnected, explored and reconnected. He’s older, he’s wider and more in tune with his own pace and palette. One of the most diverse and explorative artists to come from Loco Dice’s Desolat stable, this is Guti simplifying his passions down to an essence of everything that’s magic about his roots and our shared dancefloor culture.

The highlights are in abundance; those hazy-but-persistent New Jersey organs on Telling The Truth, that wobbly sub on Red Eye, that shimmering sinewy acid line on Se Baila, the spicy pianos and wet horns of La Orchestra Fantasma, the list goes on. Each cut designed for deep mix pleasure, each cut rolling with a strong organic flavour and alluring percussive dynamics, each cut showing Guti at his most inspired, warmest, playful and ready to wrap you up so deep in a conga you’ll soon lose yourself.

DSGN Clinic – Wide

More from

Derrick Carter – Live at Sonar Festival 2017

Derrick Carter – Live at Sonar Festival 2017

Пълен запис от близо двучасовия сет на Derrick Carter от тазгодишното издание на Sonar Festival в Барселона. Derrick Carter се изяви на SonarPub сцената преди Nina Kraviz в първата вечер на Sonar by Night.